Friday kicks off inaugurals for new Ohio officeholders

Published 01-11-2019

0 Ratings

COLUMBUS, Ohio (AP) - The swearing-in of Ohio's next state treasurer kicks off a long weekend of inaugural events for new statewide officeholders.

All five of the state's executive offices opened up this year as a result of term limits. Republicans maintained control of all five.

Former Rep. Robert Sprague (sprag) has the first inaugural of the group, a swearing-in in Findlay Friday evening. He replaces Republican Josh Mandel (man-DEHL').

Former Sen. Frank LaRose is sworn in as secretary of state at noon Saturday in Akron. Former Rep. Keith Faber (FAY'-bur) takes his oath as Ohio's next auditor that same day in Celina (suh-LEYE'-nuh). They succeed Republicans Jon Husted (HYOO'-sted) and Dave Yost, respectively.

Yost and Husted are sworn in Monday as attorney general and lieutenant governor, respectively, as is Gov.-elect Mike DeWine.

No comments found. Sign up or Login to rate and review content.